Osinbajo Swears in Five Commissioners Of National Population Commission.

Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo on Wednesday morning swore in five commissioners of the National Population Commission (NCP) at the presidential villa in Abuja.

Contrary no previous practices, Osinbajo did not make any speech or remarks, usually to challenge them on the task ahead.

Neither did Eze Duruiheoma, chairman of the NPC board, make any comments.

Osinbajo simply swore them in, took pictures with them and left.

Although no official reasons were offered, there is an outstanding issue on when the next census will hold.

Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo (middle) with the new commissioners. PHOTO: State House/Sunday Aghaeze
The census is supposed to be held every 10 years, but the federal government has been complaining about lack of funds.

It was initially scheduled for 2016, with the NPC saying N222 billion would be needed for the exercise.

It was then postponed to 2017 and shifted again.

Reporters anxious to get word on the fate of the census left the venue disappointed as Osinbajo headed for the federal executive council meeting immediately.

The new commissioners are: Eyitayo Oyetunji (Oyo state), Ukpom Ukpong (Akwa Ibom), Haliru Bala (Kebbi) Patricia Uche (Benue) and Gloria Izonfuo (Bayelsa).

They were nominated by President Muhammadu Buhari last year and recently confirmed by the senate.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.